Notice of race

The Shipman Association’s National Championship

Hosted by the Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club
To be held on
Friday 15th and Saturday 16th July 2022

1. Organising Authority

1.1 The Shipman Irish National Championship is organised by Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club, in association with the Shipman Association.

1.2 All enquiries should be addressed to: The Sailing Secretary on ‘WhatsApp - Shipman Association’.

2. Rules, Eligibility & Sailing Instructions

2.1 The event is governed by the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS), the prescriptions of Irish Sailing, the Class rules of the Shipman Association, this Notice of Race (NoR), the Sailing Instructions (SI) and any changes thereto. In the event of any conflict between the NoR and the SI, the latter shall prevail.

2.2 The SI will be posted on the Irish Shipman Association website:

2.3 The Championship is open to all Shipman 28 boats and whose owners/skippers are fully paid-up members of the Shipman Association and whose boats are registered to participate in Shipman activities [see website above]. Entries are accepted at the sole discretion of the Shipman Committee.

2.4 The boat must be helmed by the owner, or part owner who must be a regular helm of the boat in the current season and be a Member of the Shipman Association.

2.5 The crew on each boat shall consist of the team which normally crew that boat at club level or crew of equivalent skill and experience.

2.6 All boats will display the Shipman Burgee on the backstay while racing.

3.0 Entry Fee

3.1 Entries shall be made online to the Shipman Association by completing the Boat Entry & Declaration

The entry fee is €85.00.

3.2 Entries are accepted at the sole discretion of the Shipman Association

3.3 Entry is conditional upon compliance with the Declaration and Acknowledgements contained in the Championship Entry Form and Declaration by all competitors.

4. Schedule of Races, Registration and Briefing

Friday 15th July 2022
Registration from 09.00 hours. Briefing 10.30 hours in DMYC


Time of 1st Warning Signal

Number of Races

Friday 15th July  

11.55 am  


Saturday 16th July

11.20 am  


a)  The warning signal for each succeeding race will be made as soon as practicable.

b) The Race Committee may run a third race on Saturday if the Committee deems it necessary, provided that the total number of races sailed does not exceed four.

c) Hoisting IC Numerical 3 at the end of the second race will signal that a third race is being run. 

5. Scoring

5.1 RRS Appendix A4 using the Low Point scoring system shall apply.

5.2 A boat that did not start, did not finish or that retired after finishing shall be scored points for the finishing place one more that the number of boats confirmed at registration. A boat disqualified shall be scored additional points equal to 5 more than the number of boats confirmed at registration. This changes RRS A4.

5.3 The Championship shall comprise four races. One race shall constitute a series. If four races are completed, each boat’s series score shall be the total of her race scores discarding her worst score. No discard applies if only three races are completed.

5.4 The Irish Shipman Championship and Shipman Handicap Race are run on the following basis;

(a) The Handicap Series will run concurrently with the Championship and separate prizes will be awarded for the Handicap results. The handicapping of boats shall apply as fixed by the Race Committee and Handicapper. The Shipman Race Committee and Handicapper reserve the right to alter the appropriate handicaps before and during the Championship.

(b) A boat may not win a Scratch and Handicap prize in the same race or series. The Scratch series shall take precedence.

6. Prizes

6.1 Prizes shall be awarded as follows:

1st Overall Scratch: The O’ Connor Cup

1st Overall Handicap: The Cork Harbour Silver Trophy

1st Overall White Sail: The Donal O’Sullivan Perpetual Trophy

1st Race Scratch: The Woodchester Silver Sail

2nd Race Scratch: The Olle Enderlein Plate

3rd Race Scratch: The DMYC Perpetual Trophy

4th Race Scratch: The Viking Perpetual Trophy

6.2 All trophies are awarded on an annual basis and are to be held by the winners until 2023. Additional prizes for placed boats in individual races or overall may be awarded at the discretion of the Committee.

7. Competitors’ responsibility and Safety:

7.1 No responsibility shall be accepted by DMYC., The Shipman Association, the Organising Authority, its members, servants or agents, nor those officials or members connected with the event, for any loss, damage, injury or other claim of whatever nature howsoever arising or caused in connection with participation in, or intended participation in this event.

7.2 The safety of a boat and her crew is the sole and inescapable responsibility of the owner(s) or the owner’s representative, whose obligation it is to ensure that the boat is fully sound, seaworthy, manned by an experienced crew and equipped with all the necessary safety gear.

7.3 Neither the NoR, SI nor any action of the OA in any way limits or reduces the complete and unlimited responsibility of the owner(s) or the owner’s representative.

7.4 Attention is drawn to RRS- Part 1 Fundamental Rules.

7.5 Boat owners and competing crews shall ensure that they are adequately insured against loss, damage of injury to persons, boats or equipment at all times and however occurring and shall maintain third party insurance cover of not less than two million, (€3,000,000) Euro and shall produce a valid certificate of insurance on request.

7.6 International Code flag Y may be flown at any start in accordance with RRS 40 and if flown then it is mandatory that all competitors wear approved personal buoyancy. However, it is strongly recommended by the Race Committee that all competitors wear personal buoyancy and a safety harness as appropriate.

7.7 It is mandatory that each boat shall have a working VHF radio on board.

8. Racing Area and Courses

8.1 Races will be sailed in the waters in the vicinity of Dun Laoghaire Harbour.  Start position will be dependent on wind direction at time of race

9.   Registration and Payment of Entry Fee:

9.1 Registration shall be made on the official entry form, available from the Shipman Association website:   

The fee for the championship is €85.00 and is payable through Events Payments:

10. Accommodation and Social

10.1 Information on local accommodation is available on the Club website:

10.2 A Championship Reception will be held in the Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club [DMYC] on Saturday 16th July at 19.30. The dinner to follow - places for the dinner can be booked on the Entry Form. Payment for the dinner shall be taken during/after the meal.

10.3 Bar menu [bar-b-que] will be available on Friday evening.

10.4. Competitors shall be granted temporary membership of DMYC for the duration of the event subject to the Club rules for withdrawing or withholding such membership.

11. Moorings

11.1 Visiting boats will be provided with a temporary mooring on request to the Shipman Association

11.2 Competitors are advised to bring adequate fenders as boats may be rafted alongside.

Date 31/05/2022